So First the sizzle as they say. Are you like me, do you love a good Steak?
I enjoy a nice red sirloin when I can afford it but often I purchase the Round Steak when the budget permits. What about that other beef, the Chuck Steak, though stuff if you treat it as a sirloin. My Grand Mother feed me a lot of Cube Steak, kinda’ the same thing but she always made it taste good with a light brown sauce. There are delicious meals to be had with the non-sirloin beef cuts at the market and when cost for the budget is an issue you may want to know about this one particular meal I enjoyed when I was young.

1) File under Beef – Full Meal – Oven

2) The challenge is: Chuck Roast dinner with Potatoes, Onions, and Carrots.
(well if it is not a challenge, why bother) I.E. “it didn’t turn out like I expected” 😦

Many will say the source definition of the word “recipe” is go get, or gather together, so it IS a list but not just a list. When I write down a Recipe I often format it with the intention of having it go into someone’s recipe box. Some folks like to have the origin of the dish or the context of the cuisine at the top. I however like to list that Third but I also like to make it personal.

3) From a fellow born (1960) in a Massachusetts seacoast town who learned it from his Mom who’s parents in turn were French-Canadian emigrants.

The Forth thing I like to set is a synopsis of both the equipment employed and/or the philosophy employed. Very important to some people!

4) The classic oval enameled roasting pan with cover. Hot Air Roasting with no water, with bone in roast Rubbed with Salt. After 30-45min at 375 degrees add 1/8 to 1/4 (size of pan) of a cup of water, Just to keep the drippings from burning.

There it is, That’s the secret to this meal. Quite a meal it is to but add water too soon and too much and you wasted your time.

5) Recipe
Bone in Chuck Roast, thicker the better, 2 in. if you can get it.
Potatoes peeled or not
Carrots chopped or not
Onions (this is the best part) whole or in half
Salt perhaps as much as 1/3 of a cup or more

6) Roast at 375 degrees, meat only open/no cover full two hours
-add just a little water at 30-45 min. 1/8 cup if needed, less
-add vegetables placing Onions atop the roast
-check again 60-75min to add just a little water 1/8 cup if needed, less
-nibble an Onion
-at aprox 80-95 add 1/8 or more cup water and cover for remainder
(slight steam pressure drives flavor back into the meat)
-if roast is large may keep in 2-1/2 hours
-pull meat and soft veg. out set aside to keep warm
-add water to pan perhaps as much, or less, to fill to 1/2 – 3/4 in. high and on stove top the boil the potatoes and recover meat drippings 10 min., longer if you want softer potatoes

Serve as platter meal at family table.
If it comes out right you WILL KNOW IT,
I Promise.

Well I’m not just an Economist ,, — Smarter than Joe the Plumber